Synopsis: With an invisible girl, a parliament of owls and a pen that writes by itself, the journey to the Garden of the Midnight Swan might be Seren’s most dangerous adventure yet.

In this third book of the award-winning The Clockwork Crow series, Seren and Tomos must try to help the Crow find the way back to his human form. But why is Captain Jones enquiring about Seren’s past? How have the sinister Fair Family gate-crashed the Midsummer Ball, and what is the one desire of the mysterious Midnight Swan? 

Release Date: 1st October 2020

Format Read: Ebook

Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Magic, Historical, Adventure

Pages: 252

Thank you so much to NetGalley and firefly press for the earc to read and review.

Review: What an incredible way to finish off this incredible series. I loved both the two prior books in the series but I think I actually loved this one the most. 

As always the story is so well thought out and so creatively written, with this story comes closure, one final adventure to the dark fae world and our truthful answers for the clockwork crow. 

Seren was utterly brave in this one, each book she is brave and has things to overcome but this one she is even more fiercely brave and determined, this time to help break the crows curse once and for all but with it may come a huge sacrifice and a test of her hearts dearest desire. 

This story took us to the midnight swan an evil black swan darkened in her heart for something They did to her many centuries before. Tomos, Seren and The Crow have to pass her tests if they want to reach her and it won’t be so easy as They are always lurking. 

I’m so glad to have completed the story and this series and I totally cried in that last chapter not going to lie. This is a new favourite series that I will gladly read over and over. So creatively thought out, incredible adventures, mystery, intrigue and fear whilst reading and characters that you cannot help but connect with.


Where to buy: Amazon, Wordery, BookDepository, Waterstones, Firefly Press

About Author: Catherine Fisher was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She has worked in education and archaeology and as a lecturer in creative writing at the University of Glamorgan. She is a Fellow of the Welsh Academy.

Catherine is an acclaimed poet and novelist, regularly lecturing and giving readings to groups of all ages. She leads sessions for teachers and librarians and is an experienced broadcaster and adjudicator. She lives in Newport, Gwent.

Catherine has won many awards and much critical acclaim for her work. Her poetry has appeared in leading periodicals and anthologies and her volume Immrama won the WAC Young Writers’ Prize. She won the Cardiff International Poetry Competition in 1990.

Her first novel, The Conjuror’s Game, was shortlisted for the Smarties Books prize and The Snow-Walker’s Son for the W.H.Smith Award. Equally acclaimed is her quartet The Book of the Crow, a classic of fantasy fiction.

The Oracle, the first volume in the Oracle trilogy, blends Egyptian and Greek elements of magic and adventure and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children’s Books prize. The trilogy was an international bestseller and has appeared in over twenty languages. The Candleman won the Welsh Books Council’s Tir Na n’Og Prize and Catherine was also shortlisted for the remarkable Corbenic, a modern re-inventing of the Grail legend.

Her futuristic novel Incarceron was published to widespread praise in 2007, winning the Mythopoeic Society of America’s Children’s Fiction Award and selected by The Times as its Children’s Book of the Year. The sequel, Sapphique, was published in September 2008.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s